Each year, the author of the book selected for the Montana Book Award receives a piece of artwork created by a Montana visual artist.

The winner’s award is an original piece of art commissioned by the committee. The honor book awards are framed woodcuts of the Montana Book Award logo, printed and designed by Claire Emery.  Awards are presented during the Montana Library Association Conference in the Spring, preferably hosted by the local Friends group in the host city.

Award Artists:

2018 Artist James Behring

2017 Artist Cathy Weber

2016 Artist Margaret Harrington

2015 Artist Lukas Phelan

2014 Artist Susan Carlson

2013 Artist Carol Ann Harff

2012 Artist Courtney Blazon

2011 Artist Tom McGuane

2010 Artist Dana Boussard

2009 Artist  Kendahl Jan Jubb

2008 Artist Linda Juneau

2007 Artist Paul Pacini

2006 Artist Suzanne Sterrett

2005 Artist Steve Glueckert

2004 Artist Mary Leedom, Lightning Boy Star Quilts

2003 Artist Jill Majer

2002 Artist Beth Lo

Montana Book Award logo artist Claire Emery